A walk in the dark

A walk in the dark
A dark night

She paid for the medicines, and left the chemist’s shop, which was opposite the bus stop. Until three months ago, when she travelled by bus, this was the same path she used. Her house was about fifteen minutes walk from here.

Today, she regretted sending away the auto-rickshaw as she traversed the familiar path. That incident changed every woman’s opinion of the area. The street no longer seemed safe.

Darkness had engulfed the entire lane, the dim street-lights barely providing enough light for her to see the road ahead. The shops in the area were closed for the night. Her mobile phone showed 10:30. It might as well be 12.30, she thought, staring at the pitch black night.

After a short while, she heard the thud of the approaching footsteps along with her clicking sandals which pierced the silence of the deserted street. Someone was following her. Should she turn, and confront the person? Instead, she increased her pace. Her follower did the same. Unconsciously, she checked her mobile. Great, no network!

It gave her a feeling of complete isolation, and she panicked. Now, she walked faster to the point of running. The person behind her followed suit. She could sense the footsteps very close. Her pulse quickened at the impending doom. She burst into a sprint, but stumbled over a careless stone.

She screamed as a hand touched her shoulder.

Are your hurt ?” a deep voice asked.

She turned to gaze into the concerned face of the chemist’s assistant.

Ma’am,” he said, helping her get up, “you forgot your parcel.”

In his other hand was the bag of Chinese takeaway she had ordered from 5 Spice.

I have been tagged by my dear friend Kokila to take part in Five photos Five stories challenge (FPFS) which is- Post a picture for 5 consecutive days and attach a post to it , fiction, poem or short write-up.It can be anything to suit your taste.

I am tagging  my dear blogger friend Saru on my Day Three and as a part of the challenge, I will tag a new person on Day Four.

Indiblogger badge

14 thoughts on “A walk in the dark

  1. I smelt a happy ending in the beginning itself 🙂 I am reading the stories in the reverse order, the ones which had tragic end gave no clue till the last moment… So, my guess worked 🙂
    Nice story, Kiran 🙂 Such stories give confidence to face any situation that we may have to face 🙂

  2. Thank God, it was only her bag. Such situations are really scary, happened to me twice.

    I am sorry, I checked your comment just now and landed here. Thanks for tagging me, would love to write a post. Writing for five days consecutively, that seems pretty uphill. Huge respect to those who do this, but will surely try.

    1. I know. Happened to me once too.
      Normally, I write once a week. This challenge covered my month’s quota of blog posts. 😀
      Waiting for some lovely posts from you. 🙂
      Thanks a lot!

  3. I felt my heart beats keeping pace with her footsteps as she walked down that dark road. 🙂
    That was a very engrossing read, Kiran.

Share your opinion

