My stint at learning Italian cuisine

“If you want something you have never had, you must be willing to do something you have never done.”

It was Jeff Bullas who quoted the famous quote(during BNLF day 1), and fired my enthusiasm. Of course, I want many things, all of which I’ve never had, so my to do list for this is huge.

But as Indiblogger had packed BNLF with many activities, I decided to search nearby. First was Segway, though scary (I get scared riding a bike; don’t judge) at first, but too easy. Mini golf—too easy.

I decided to venture into deep waters. I signed up for something which I would’ve never done in normal circumstances. BNLF wasn’t normal; it was the cumulative creative energy of around 500 bloggers.

I signed up for a master class to learn a recipe. And not just any recipe. Ricotta Spinach filled Tortellini on the Bed of Mushrooms. Sounds yummy? Tastes delicious too. I know thanks to Maniparna, my dear friend from Scattered thoughts.

Learning To cook Italian
© K. A. Acharya

Executive Sous Chef Ravish Mishra, and Chef Rajiv Kumar taught us the yummy Italian dish at lovely Trendz restaurant in The Lalit. Yeah, I learn in style. 😉

I learnt cooking is fun, especially when someone else cooks, and you get to click photos, and ask annoying questions. 😛

Now without further ado, I’ll present you with the recipe.

The recipe

Ricotta Spinach filled Tortellini on the Bed of Mushrooms

Ingredients:

Ricotta Cheese-25 gm

Baby Spinach-50 gm

Farina flour 00’ – 50 gm

Semolina – 15 gm

Eggs – 1 no. Substitute with Potato starch if you are veg. *

EVOO (Extra virgin olive oil) – 5 ml

Button mushrooms – 50 gm

Onion- 25 gm

Asparagus- 25 gm

Sage Butter- 5 gm

Sundried Tomato- 10 gm

Pine nuts- 10 gm

Chives- for garnish

Cherry Tomato- 1 no.

Salt- as per taste

Cracked Black Peppers – 2 gm

* For vegetarians: use 300 gm potato starch for 700 gm of flour .

Preparation method:

  • For the pasta filling, mix ricotta cheese, and spinach. Adding a pinch of nutmeg powder would mask the bitter taste of spinach, and add a distinct flavour.  Season the mixture with salt, and ground black pepper.
  • Make dough for pasta with Farina flour, whole eggs, salt, and olive oil. Let the dough rest for 20-30 minutes.
  • Sheet the pasta, or you can can roll it out into a long wide sheet with hand (1-2 mm thickness). Fill it with spinach filling, and make the described shape. (Check picture below.)Steps to make pasta shapes
  • Blanch the pasta in salted water for 8 minutes.
  • Chop mushrooms, and sauté with chopped onions in EVOO. Place it as the bed for pasta. (Check picture below.)Bed of mushrooms
  • Make sauce with sage butter, add chopped onion, and garlic. Cook until it’s translucent. Add chopped sundried tomato, chopped pine nuts, chopped parsley, and fresh sage. Toss the blanched pasta in the sauce.
  • Place the blanched pasta on the bed of mushroom.
  • Garnish with butter, poached asparagus, balsamic reduction, chop chives, and  cherry tomato. (Check picture below.)Steps to garnish

Your dish is ready to serve (and eat). 😀

Dish ready to serve
Chef Rajiv Kumar and executive Sous Chef Ravish Mishra

Now, that I’m done with sharing the recipe, I’ll go back to ranting er…reflecting. At this amazing place, I learned a new recipe, and a lesson long forgotten. Even if the mentioned recipe sounds like a vegetarian dish, it might not be. No, eggs aren’t vegetarian. So, after all my hard work (taking pictures, learning the recipe) I didn’t get to taste it. 😦 Still, I have one solace. Now, my blog has a recipe post. Yay! 😀

24 thoughts on “My stint at learning Italian cuisine

  1. This looks like an amazing recipe and an amazing experience! What is it about Italy this week? I also posted about Italian bread and included a chicken and basil recipe! My motivation was how much I love Italy and the fact that I have set my novella there!

    Denise 🙂

  2. That looks and sounds incredibly delicious 🙂 I missed attending this one but even if I was there, I would have happily shared your company… in clicking pics and not tasting it 😀

Share your opinion

